top of page
  • kcwilsonbarge

How to Make Pumpkins Last All Season


I LOVE spooky season - like, a lot. And it wouldn't be complete without a trip to the pumpkin patch! But over the past few years, I've noticed my gourds seem to be rotting before Halloween. Luckily I think I've finally found the perfect routine to make my pumpkins last all season long, and I'm sharing all the details with you!


Step 1: Rinse your pumpkins

Grab a dish brush and get to work scrubbing away all that dirt and debris that's collected from the patch. Any soap will do but I like the Dawn blue dish soap. Rinse with warm water and pat dry with a towel.


Step 2: Give your pumpkins a bleach bath

Take 1/4 parts bleach and combine with 3/4 parts water and mix together in a spray bottle. Apply all over your pumpkins, making sure to pay extra attention to the stems. Rinse with warm water and pat dry with a towel.


Step 3: Seal your pumpkins

Spray your pumpkins with a generous coating of sealer. I used the Rust-Oleum Painter's Touch 2X 12 oz. Gloss Clear General Purpose Spray Paint for a beautiful shiny finish that really makes my pumpkins pop under the porch lights at night.


And that's it! Super easy and it truly makes a world of difference in preserving your gourds' life. Happy pumpkin picking friends!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page